The Best Burgers in the World

Saturday was the most amazing day I’ve had in a long time! Everything went just right and you’ll just have to bear with me for a bit before I get to the part about the beef.

First thing in the morning I went with my my mom, my youngest brother and sister, and my children to a community yard sale put on by the local Rotary Club. It was great! We found some neat things and had some freshly squeezed lemonade (squeezed right in front of us!). I’m a huge fan of buying things used from yard sales, rummage sales, and thrift stores. Not only does it cost less, but there’s less waste, it’s recycling, AND it’s so much fun to find cool things in unexpected places.

On the way to my parents’ house from the amazing community yard sale, I decided to stop by the local roadside honey stand where I bought some raw, unfiltered honey with the comb still in it. I hadn’t had honey like that since I was around 10 years old!

Raw honey is a treat. Very much like when I first drank raw milk, I had to take a few bites before I got used to the flavor, but it was so deep and smoky and RICH! The honey in the store is so… vapidly sweet. This honey is still very sweet, but it’s full of layers and secrets and wisdom. I’m so glad we can still get it locally!

Anyhow, that evening we had the best burgers on the face of the planet. My mom made the patties and Phred grilled the burgers with the help of my 15 year old brother. Sauteed onions, grass-fed beef, mayo, brown mustard, ketchup, pickles, lettuce, and tomato. All mushed together in a double handful of heaven. It doesn’t get much better than that 🙂

Then, last night, we decided to be bold and invite my parents over for fondue and vegetable tempura. We had eggplant from Earthwize that made absolutely amazing tempura! So did the squash and the green peppers… wow! My mom loved it and so did our daughters! Of course, we did too. My dad was happier to eat his fresh corn on the cob and regularly prepared green beans.

For the fondue, we used hot oil in the fondue pots and cut some stew meat into smaller pieces to make it easier to cook them at the table. Phred marinated them all day in a marinade that he’ll write about later and it was just perfect.

So, we’ve been eating our beef and having a good time. We’ve just been a little behind in writing about it and in getting pictures up, but we will do so very soon! We’ve found our camera and we have a lot of tasty meat pictures to share with you all!

Till next time then!

~B.

About barefootbetsy

I'm a musician, a mama, a lifelong lover of learning, a seeker of truth, and an avid barefooter.
This entry was posted in Beef, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment