Cooking With Jazz

The cool jazz is playing on Jazz 24 and the smells from the kitchen are amazing! What could be better?

It’s been a busy summer, but a good one. I apologize for being away for so long. Right now I’m heating up some left-over Ratatouille and ground beef in the oven while the rice cooks and the lovely peach and blueberry cobbler bakes in the convection/toaster oven.

We haven’t been doing much in the way of exciting new things in the kitchen. A lot of grilling out and making basic food has gotten us through the busy last couple of weeks.

One exciting thing I’ve been meaning to write about though is how wonderful it is to be able to make Ratatouille in my own kitchen! If you’ve never tasted fresh eggplant, you truly are missing out. It has an odd texture, but the flavor is… indescribably delicious!

Eggplant is one of those odd foods that hardly anyone eats on a regular basis. After all, when was the last time you saw an eggplant in your friendly neighborhood grocery store? Eggplants are delicate and don’t last very long – nor do they travel well – so, depending on your location, local sources are probably your best bet for finding some good eggplants.

Anyhow, one of the benefits to being in a CSA for us is actually getting to experiment, cook with, and eat things like eggplants which we would otherwise either not buy or maybe not even have access to.

The food is just about done and I’m going to go enjoy it now. I just want to encourage everyone to try something new this week. Try eggplant if you can. It’s a truly amazing food – but remember not to eat the skin raw.

~B.

About barefootbetsy

I'm a musician, a mama, a lifelong lover of learning, a seeker of truth, and an avid barefooter.
This entry was posted in Food Practicum, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cooking With Jazz

  1. Tammy McLeod says:

    Yes, there are times when the eggplant in my CSA is so abundant that my children threaten to run away. But you’re right that it forces us to eat it and to find new ways to cook it and for that, we are all better off.

  2. Annette says:

    Hi there Sweetie!
    I have tracked you down. I miss seeing you on LJ. Are you on Facebook or Twitter or any of those other social networking thingies?

    Annette
    (hestia on LiveJournal)

    • barefootbetsy says:

      Hey! Yep – I’m on Facebook. I’ll send you a link on LJ tomorrow 🙂 It’s late here right now… I shouldn’t even be awake!

  3. kaitlin says:

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

Leave a comment